Copland House…UNDERSCORED: November 19, 1828


Monday, March 22, 2021
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm


Music from Copland House time-travels across the centuries when it features Pulitzer prize-winning composer John Harbison’s provocative quartet for piano and strings entitled November 19, 1828, the day the beloved 19th-century master Franz Schubert passed away. This eerie, ethereal “musical hallucination” invokes moments in the Viennese composer’s life, his passage into the afterlife, and his conjuring of imaginary sounds and unrealized musical ideas. Co-produced with The Graduate Center of the City University of New York, this 45-minute virtual program includes a complete performance of this striking work, preceded by a brief introductory conversation with the artists, and followed by a live Q&A with viewers. Access is free, with registration. Register Here
Music from Copland House artists:  Curtis Macomber, violin; Kathryn Lockwood, viola; Alexis Pia Gerlach, cello; Michael Boriskin, piano.

Event Location and Ticket Information

Date: Monday, March 22, 2021
Times: 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Ticket pricing:
Free event
Get tickets now

Presenter: Copland House
Presenter Phone: 914-788-4659
Presenter Website:

iCal icon courtesy of 0