The Westchester Choral Society and the Chappaqua Orchestra 

proudly present a joint performance of Johannes Brahms’ Ein Deutsches Requiem.
The requiem, Brahms’ longest work, is comprised of seven movements.
Wistful and solemn sounds carry throughout the first three movements.
The fourth, How Lovely are Thy Dwellings, serves as a turning point and is followed
by sentiments of comfort in the final three sections.
Brahms compiled the text himself from both the Old and New Testaments of the
Lutheran Bible. It is unique as a requiem because it focuses on the living;
it begins with the words “Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted.”
Although the idea of the Lord is the source of the comfort, the sympathetic humanism
persists throughout the composition.

Event Location and Ticket Information

Loading Map....

Manhattanville College
O'Byrne Chapel; 2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY/Westchester 10577
Handicap Accessible? Yes

Date: Saturday, December 9, 2017
Times: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Ticket pricing:

Get tickets now

Presenter: Westchester Choral Society
Presenter Phone: 914 476 8686